The Golden Braid

Weaving Wonderful Worlds

Weeky Brain, Part IV

Sorry it has been a while. I was out of town last weekend and received a last minute rush project at work…you know how the story goes.

Pushing ahead. Here is where I am this week:

I got the dev. server up and running. I had to brush up a bit on my subnetting, but all turned out well after that tiny bit of frustration. In case you're curious how the config turned out; I did wind up running two daisy chained NAT/SPS routers behind a Hamachi VPN with software firewalls on all clients. You may call it overkill, I will continue to call it a fun excercise in paranoia. The next step is implementing a traveling key-drive encryption set up which will eventually replace all but on-site admin logins once the site goes live.

I did choose XOOPS for a CMS manager, but I fear I will not have the time to sit down with it in the next few weeks. It does look promising due to its native technologies, but I can't say I've done much more than read the basics.

I need to do some fact finding on Squids (the cache servers, not the sea creatures). Which reminds me, I did get to pet some sharks and sting-rays while I was on holiday…that was a riot.

June 18, 2006 - Posted by | CMS, Daily thoughts, Security

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

