The Golden Braid

Weaving Wonderful Worlds

Weekly Brain, Part III

I will do a quick follow up on some of the things I've figured out in the past week.

* The whole Bill Inmon DW2.0 idea is good in theory, but I hesitate at the thought of implementing an entire architecture at once. ETL is almost necessary until a scenario like this has been perfected. To me it all still seems a bit rough around the edges.

* I need to set up a temporary web server to play out a few scenarios. I haven't done something along these lines since the days of seperate Apache/PHP/MySQL installs. From what I understand the situation is a bit easier these days with the incredible amount of Open Source solutions. I'm still trying to decide between XOOPS and Plone. I'm looking for something flexible with strong file storage & collaboration features, yet simple enough for the un-initiated.

* I haven't quite decided what I'm going to do for security considering this is just a temporary dev project. I think I'll just setup the server on a spare box between a pair of shotgunned NATs. I'm not sure if I'm willing to invest the time in setting up an SSH or VPN solution. Now that I think about it, maybe I should look at just setting something along the lines of a private Hamachi server. Any objections?

* I finally broke down and learned some Python & Ruby this week. They are very easy to pick up if you are familiar with basic programming concepts. If you are just starting in your endeavors, I would strongly suggest either of these languages as a fundamental launch pad.

May 29, 2006 - Posted by | CMS, Daily thoughts

1 Comment »

  1. I no speaky you l337 speach. Me no understand. You smart, scary man! J/K. Wow, you really like this shit don’t you? One of these days I’ll have to come by and see you setup. I need to make some modifications to my own!

    Comment by Nick | May 31, 2006 | Reply


Leave a Reply

